Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

Warren Alpert Foundation Prize Winners

Rodolphe Barrangou, Philippe Horvath, Jennifer Doudna, Emmanuelle Charpentier, and Virginijus Siksnys have been awarded the 2016 Warren Alpert Foundation Prize for their contribution to the understanding of the CRISPR bacterial defense system:

  • Barrangou is an associate professor in the department of food, bioprocessing, and nutrition sciences, and the Todd R. Klaenhammer distinguished scholar in probiotics research at North Carolina State University.

  • Horvath is a senior scientist at DuPont in Dangé-Saint-Romain, France.

  • Doudna holds the Li Ka Shing Chancellor's chair in biomedical and health sciences, and is a professor of molecular and cell biology and of chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley.

  • Charpentier is a scientific member and director at the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology in Berlin, and a professor at Umeå University in Sweden.

  • Siksnys is a professor, chief scientist, and department head at the Institute of Biotechnology at Vilnius University in Lithuania.

This year's recipients will share an unrestricted award of $500,000 and will be honored at a symposium at Harvard Medical School on Oct. 6.