Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

National Academy of Sciences: Allon Klein, Aviv Regev, Feng Zhang

The National Academy of Sciences will award the inaugural James Prize in Science and Technology Integration to Allon Klein and Aviv Regev and the Richard Lounsbery Award to Feng Zhang.

Klein is a professor of systems biology at Harvard Medical School, Regev is head of Genentech Research and Early Development, and Zhang is a professor at the MacGovern Institute for Brain Research and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Klein and Regev are receiving their $50,000 prize for the development of massively-parallel single-cell genomics to interrogate gene expression profiles that define distinct cell types, their developmental trajectories, and disease states, using integrated tools from molecular biology, engineering, statistics, and computer science. Zhang is honored with the $75,000 prize for his achievements developing CRISPR tools with the potential to diagnose and treat disease.

All three will be presented with their awards during the academy's 158th annual meeting.

The Scan

Renewed Gain-of-Function Worries

The New York Times writes that the pandemic is renewing concerns about gain-of-function research.

Who's Getting the Patents?

A trio of researchers has analyzed gender trends in biomedical patents issued between 1976 and 2010 in the US, New Scientist reports.

Other Uses

CBS Sunday Morning looks at how mRNA vaccine technology could be applied beyond SARS-CoV-2.

PLOS Papers Present Analysis of Cervicovaginal Microbiome, Glycosylation in Model Archaea, More

In PLOS this week: functional potential of the cervicovaginal microbiome, glycosylation patterns in model archaea, and more.