Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

Movers & Shakers: Feb 25, 2011


Cellzome this week announced it has appointed Ruedi Aebersold, Anne Ferguson-Smith, Jeannie Lee, and Diane Mathis to its scientific advisory board.

Aebersold is a professor at the Institute of Molecular Systems Biology at ETH Zurich and a co-founder of Seattle's Institute for Systems Biology. He is also one of the leaders of the SRMatlas project.

Ferguson-Smith is a professor of developmental genetics at the University of Cambridge where she focuses on epigenetics research.

Lee is a professor of genetics at Harvard Medical School and the Massachusetts General Hospital.

Mathis is a professor of pathology at Harvard Medical School and an associate member at the Broad Institute.

Dave Anderson and William Thomsen have joined SRI International's Center for Advanced Drug Research where Anderson will work as principal scientist in its proteomics group and Thomsen will serve as principal scientist in its metabolic diseases group.

Previously Anderson was senior director of proteomics at Catalyst Biosciences and a research fellow for proteomics and target discovery at Rigel Pharmaceuticals.

Thomsen was most recently director of molecular pharmacology at Arena Pharmaceuticals.

Morphosys announced this week that Jens Holstein will succeed Dave Lemus as the company's chief financial officer. Lemus is stepping down from the position in March 2011 to pursue other opportunities, the company said.

Holstein is currently the regional chief financial officer for Fresenius Kabi and managing director of Fresenius Kabi Deutschland. He has worked there since 1995.

The Scan

Fertility Fraud Found

Consumer genetic testing has uncovered cases of fertility fraud that are leading to lawsuits, according to USA Today.

Ties Between Vigorous Exercise, ALS in Genetically At-Risk People

Regular strenuous exercise could contribute to motor neuron disease development among those already at genetic risk, Sky News reports.

Test Warning

The Guardian writes that the US regulators have warned against using a rapid COVID-19 test that is a key part of mass testing in the UK.

Science Papers Examine Feedback Mechanism Affecting Xist, Continuous Health Monitoring for Precision Medicine

In Science this week: analysis of cis confinement of the X-inactive specific transcript, and more.