Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

Qiagen: Scientific Advisory Board Appointees

Qiagen has created a scientific advisory board, the first in the company's history, and named three inaugural members: Peter Kaspar, who has help multiple leadership positions at Roche Diagnostics and BioMerieux; Patrice Nordmann, chair of the medical and molecular microbiology department at the University of Fribourg, Switzerland; and Neville Sanjana, a core faculty member at the New York Genome Center and an assistant professor at New York University.

Ross Levine, a member of Qiagen's supervisory board and a US physician scientist focused on blood and bone marrow cancers, will chair the SAB; while Metin Colpan, an advisory board member and Qiagen cofounder, will serve as vice-chair.

The Scan

Billions for Antivirals

The US is putting $3.2 billion toward a program to develop antivirals to treat COVID-19 in its early stages, the Wall Street Journal reports.

NFT of the Web

Tim Berners-Lee, who developed the World Wide Web, is auctioning its original source code as a non-fungible token, Reuters reports.

23andMe on the Nasdaq

23andMe's shares rose more than 20 percent following its merger with a special purpose acquisition company, as GenomeWeb has reported.

Science Papers Present GWAS of Brain Structure, System for Controlled Gene Transfer

In Science this week: genome-wide association study ties variants to white matter stricture in the brain, and more.