Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

Breakthrough Prize: Shankar Balasubramanian, David Klenerman, Pascal Mayer

Shankar Balasubramanian and David Klenerman, both at the University of Cambridge, and Pascal Mayer at Alphanosos have been awarded the 2022 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences for the development of massively parallel DNA sequencing.

They share the prize with Katalin Karikó and Drew Weissman, who developed engineered RNA for vaccine development, and with Jeffery Kelly, who is honored for his work in neurodegenerative and cardiac transthyretin diseases. The award comes with $3 million in prize money and is funded by the Breakthrough Prize Foundation and its founders.