Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

Susan Lindquist, Russell Ellison, William Barna, Michael Eisen, Kimmen Sjlander


The Whitehead Institute said last week that Susan Lindquist will resign as president effective “on or about” Nov. 1. The institute said that Lindquist intends to focus on her laboratory and research.

Russell Ellison, chief medical officer and vice president of medical affairs at Sanofi-Synthelabo, has joined the board of ProSanos. Ellison has also held senior-level positions at Hoffmann La Roche, Roche Canada, and Glaxo Canada.

VizX Labs has hired William Barna as director of sales, a new position. Barna previously held sales positions at Cytyc, CN Biosciences, and VWR International.

Computational biologists Michael Eisen and Kimmen Sjölander are among five researchers from the University of California, Berkeley, and 57 scientists in the country to receive this year’s Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers.

Filed under

The Scan

Mosquitos Genetically Modified to Prevent Malaria Spread

A gene drive approach could be used to render mosquitos unable to spread malaria, researchers report in Science Advances.

Gut Microbiomes Allow Bears to Grow to Similar Sizes Despite Differing Diets

Researchers in Scientific Reports find that the makeup of brown bears' gut microbiomes allows them to reach similar sizes even when feasting on different foods.

Finding Safe Harbor in the Human Genome

In Genome Biology, researchers present a new approach to identify genomic safe harbors where transgenes can be expressed without affecting host cell function.

New Data Point to Nuanced Relationship Between Major Depression, Bipolar Disorder

Lund University researchers in JAMA Psychiatry uncover overlapping genetic liabilities for major depression and bipolar disorder.