Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

People in the News: Apr 10, 2009 (rev. 1)


The Bioinformatics Organization said this week that it will present the 2009 Benjamin Franklin Award in the Life Sciences to Philip Bourne of the University of California, San Diego.

The annual award is given to a scientist "who epitomizes the open-source values" espoused by Benjamin Franklin, Bioinformatics.Org said in a statement. Bourne will be presented with the award at the 2009 Bio-IT World Conference & Expo in Boston on April 28.

Bourne was nominated for his contributions to open access in bioinformatics and computational biology as well as his innovations with the Protein Data Bank. Bourne is a past president of the International Society for Computational Biology and the founding editor-in-chief of PLoS Computational Biology, one of the open-access journals launched by the Public Library of Science.

Gene Network Sciences has named Eric Schadt as co-chair of its scientific advisory board.

Schadt, who will join James Collins of Boston University to co-chair the SAB, is in the process of creating Sage, an open-access distributed data platform designed to enable collaboration by integrating public and private genomic data sets. He will leave his position as executive scientific director of genetics at Merck to run Sage.

Schadt is an affiliate professor in the department of biostatistics at the University of Washington in Seattle, and was recently appointed as a fellow in the Institute of Synthetic and Systems Biology at Imperial College London.

John Feo has been named director of the Center for Adaptive Supercomputing Software at the Department of Energy's Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. The center will develop software that takes advantage of the multi-threaded Cray XMT and similar computers.

Feo comes to PNNL from Microsoft, where he led a group developing new applications for many core processors. Before that Feo spent time at Cray, where he worked on the early generations of the Cray XMT, and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.