Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

2008 Benjamin Franklin Award

The Bioinformatics Organization is now accepting nominations for the 2008 Benjamin Franklin Award for Open Access in the Life Sciences, which the organization presents annually to an individual who has promoted open-access to the materials and methods used in the life sciences.

The award ceremony will be held at the 2008 Bio-IT World Conference + Expo in Boston next April. Ceremony attendance is free with early registration.

Past laureates include Sean Eddy, who won in 2007; Michael Ashburner, the winner in 2006; Ewan Birney, in 2005; Lincoln Stein, who won in 2004; James Kent, the winner in 2003; and Michael Eisen, who won in 2002.

Additional information, including nominating a candidate, can be found here.

Filed under

The Scan

Shape of Them All

According to BBC News, researchers have developed a protein structure database that includes much of the human proteome.

For Flu and More

The Wall Street Journal reports that several vaccine developers are working on mRNA-based vaccines for influenza.

To Boost Women

China's Ministry of Science and Technology aims to boost the number of female researchers through a new policy, reports the South China Morning Post.

Science Papers Describe Approach to Predict Chemotherapeutic Response, Role of Transcriptional Noise

In Science this week: neural network to predict chemotherapeutic response in cancer patients, and more.