Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

People in the News: Clare Rebbeck, Charles Vanderburg, Sara Larriba, Muthuswamy Balasubramanyam, Johannes Grillari, Serena Lucotti, Viviana Bumaschny, Richard Keijzer, Carolyn Klinge, Hanjoong Jo


Exiqon announced 10 winners of its 2012 grant program, which provides microRNA researchers with awards that can be used to purchase Exiqon miRNA products and services.

This year's winner's include Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory's Clare Rebbeck; Harvard Medical School's Charles Vanderburg; Bellvitge Biomedical Research Institute's Sara Larriba; and Madras Diabetes Research Foundation's Muthuswamy Balasubramanyam.

Also winning grants are Johannes Grillari of Vienna's University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences; the Institute of Clinical Physiology's Serena Lucotti; the University of Buenos Aires' Viviana Bumaschny; Richard Keijzer of the University of Manitoba: Carolyn Klinge of the University of Louisville School of Medicine; and Hanjoong Jo of Emory University.

The Scan

More Boosters for US

Following US Food and Drug Administration authorization, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has endorsed booster doses of the Moderna and Johnson & Johnson SARS-CoV-2 vaccines, the Washington Post writes.

From a Pig

A genetically modified pig kidney was transplanted into a human without triggering an immune response, Reuters reports.

For Privacy's Sake

Wired reports that more US states are passing genetic privacy laws.

Science Paper on How Poaching Drove Evolution in African Elephants

In Science this week: poaching has led to the rapid evolution of tuskless African elephants.