Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

People In The News: May 31, 2013

NEW YORK (GenomeWeb News) – The Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research has appointed David Lane to be its new scientific director, effective June 1. He succeeds Andrew Simpson, who was scientific director for five years, from 2007 to 2012.

Lane is credited with the discovery of the p53 protein, an important tumor suppressor that is either mutated or faulty in about half all cancers. His current research efforts are focused on controlling p53 and identifying targets for new cancer therapies.

Currently, he is chief scientist at Singapore's Agency for Science, Technology, and Research, and he will retain that post in addition to his new role at Ludwig. Lane also formerly was a program director at Imperial College, ICRF Laboratories, and Clare Hall. He also helped establish the Cancer Research Campaign laboratories at the University of Dundee. He also served as Cancer Research UK's first chief scientist.

French cell chip maker Cytoo has named Marc Le Bozec as its new CEO.

Before joining Cytoo, Le Bozec was CEO and CFO of Cellectis' bioresearch subsidiary. He also served as chief operating officer at Alfact Innovation, and he founded and led BioProtein Technologies.

Le Bozec sits on the scientific advisory board of INSERM, the French National Institute of Health and Medical Research.

Ernest Moniz was sworn in this week as the new secretary of the Department of Energy, replacing Stephen Chu.

Before being tapped to run DOE, Moniz was a professor of physics and engineering systems at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he has been on the faculty since 1973. Moniz also previously served as under secretary at DOE between 1997 and 2001.

BioNano Genomics has appointed Fahim Amini to be VP of commercial operations for Europe, the Middle East, and Africa. In the role, he will be responsible for expanding the reach of the company's Irys System into EMEA markets.

Amini recently was director of EMEA at Complete Genomics, and before that, he held several commercialization posts at Illumina and Affymetrix.

The Mayo Clinic and Cancer Genetics have teamed up to launch the sequencing-based biomarker discovery company OncoSpire Genomics, and the new firm has appointed an initial board of governors.

The board consists of six members, including three Mayo Clinic appointees and three Cancer Genetics appointees. Gianrico Farrugia, head of Mayo's Center for Individualized Medicine is on the board along with Scott Beck, administrator of the Mayo's Center for Individualized Medicine and Kathy Bates, director of business development for Mayo's Medical Laboratories. The three representatives from Cancer Genetics are Founder and Chairman of the Board Raju Chaganti, CEO Panna Sharma, and John Pappajohn, a member of the firm's board of directors.

The Indiana Biosciences Research Institute, a public-private partnership which launched this week, has named its board of directors.

The board includes: Roche Diagnostics' Senior VP and CFO Wayne Burris; BioCrossroads' President and CEO David Johnson; Eli Lilly and Company VP of Corporate Business Development Darren Carroll; Dow AgroSciences' Global Ventures and Technology Leader Ry Wagner; Biomet Biologics President Jon Serbousek; VP of Industry and Government Affairs at Cook Dan Peterson; Indiana University Health President and CEO Daniel Evans; Indiana University VP for Engagement Bill Stephan; and Ryan Streeter, a senior economic policy director for Indiana Governor Mike Pence.

The Scripps Research Institute has elected two new members to its board of trustees, including Current Scripps Health's Chief Medical Officer and corporate Senior VP James LaBelle and AT&T Florida President Marshall Criser.

LaBelle started his current roles at Scripps Health in January of this year, and before that he was corporate VP of quality, physician co-management, and medical management. He also served two terms as hospital chief of staff at Scripps Memorial Hospital Encinitas.

Alzheimer's diagnostics developer DiaGenic has named Charles DeCarli to serve on its scientific advisory board.

DeCarli is a professor of neurology at the University of California, Davis, where he is director of the Alzheimer's Disease Center and the Imaging of Dementia and Aging laboratory. He also is editor-in-chief of the international journal Alzheimer Disease and Associated Disorders.

Nanosphere's shareholders this week re-elected five members of its board of directors to continue serving until the next shareholder meeting in 2014, including: Sheli Rosenberg; Michael McGarrity; André de Bruin; Lorin Randall; and Michael Ward.

Promoted? Changing jobs? GenomeWeb wants to know. E-mail [email protected] to appear in People In The News, a weekly roundup of industry comings and goings.