Skip to main content

Migrations: Dec 19, 2008

Platypus Technologies this week announced that Richard Schifreen has joined the company as president and chief executive officer. He was previously vice president of research products at Mirus Bio.
Prior to joining Mirus Bio in 2005, Schifreen was the director of technology and business development at Promega.    
The company also announced that Jeffrey Williams, the former president and chief executive officer of Platypus, has left the company to pursue opportunities in molecular biology.    

Cellular Dynamics International announced this week that Chris Kendrick-Parker has been appointed chief commercial officer, Emile Nuwaysir has been appointed chief operating officer, and David Snyder has been appointed chief financial officer.
Prior to CDI, Kendrick-Parker served as vice president of the global pharmaceutical business unit at Affymetrix. Kendrick-Parker was previously a member of the drug discovery services team at Amersham Pharmacia.
Nuwaysir was senior vice president of program management and business development and chief technology officer at Roche NimbleGen, prior to CDI. Nuwaysir previously held various scientific and managerial positions at NimbleGen.
Snyder most recently was site vice president and chief financial officer of Roche NimbleGen.  

The Scan

WHO OKs Emergency Use of Sinopharm Vaccine

The World Health Organization has granted emergency approval for Sinopharm's SARS-CoV-2 vaccine, the Guardian reports.

Scientific Integrity Panel to Meet

According to the Associated Press, a new US scientific integrity panel is to meet later this week.

Trying in the Eye

NPR reports that a study of Editas Medicine's CRISPR therapy for Leber congenital amaurosis has begun.

PLOS Papers on Cerebellum Epigenetics, Copy Number Signature Tool, Acute Lung Injury Networks

In PLOS this week: epigenetics analysis of brain tissue, bioinformatics tool to find copy number signatures in cancer, and more.