Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

Winners Announced for Young Cancer Investigator Prize

NEW YORK (GenomeWeb) – The Pershing Square Sohn Cancer Research Alliance today announced seven winners of its annual Young Investigators in Cancer Research prize.

Each winner will receive $200,000 annually for up to three years in support of explorative and high-risk/high-reward research in areas where traditional funding is often lacking, the foundation said.

This year's winners are Mount Sinai's Samuel Sidi, who is researching genetic mutations in tumors and treatment options for radioresistant cancer; Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory's Christopher Vakoc, who is using CRISPR to study protein involvement in cancer; Memorial Sloan Kettering's Andrea Ventura, who is using genome-editing to identify molecular mechanisms underpinning lung cancer initial and progression; Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center's Omar Abdel-Wahab, who is identifying novel transcripts, pathways, and therapeutic strategies to target spliceosomal-mutant malignancies in leukemias; Columbia University Medical Center's Uttiya Basu, who is studying infections disease-induced DNA alterations in B cell malignancies; Weill Cornell Medical College's Christopher Mason, who is using computational and biochemical methods to target and re-program specific sites of epigenetic aggressiveness in acute myeloid leukemia patients; and NYU School of Medicine's Agnel Sfeir, who is researching the molecular mechanisms involved in the chromosome biology of breast cancers.

"We are pleased to announce our third cohort of the Pershing Square Sohn Prize winners,” Pershing Square Capital Management CEO and foundation Founder Bill Ackman said in a statement. "We formed this prize to enable talented scientists to pursue bold research at a critical time in their careers. We are extremely pleased with the network the Pershing Square Sohn Prize has created and hope through collaboration we can accelerate the potential for a cure."