Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

Shiny Medal

Bruce Alberts, the former editor in chief of the journal Science who is now at the University of California, San Francisco, is among this year's winners of the National Medal of Science. The White House announced the winners of that prize and the National Medal of Technology and Innovation awardees Friday.

"These scholars and innovators have expanded our understanding of the world, made invaluable contributions to their fields, and helped improve countless lives," President Barack Obama said in a statement. "Our nation has been enriched by their achievements, and by all the scientists and technologists across America dedicated to discovery, inquiry, and invention."

Other winners include Judith Klinman from UC-Berkeley, Cornell University's Jerrold Meinwald, and the National Cancer Institute's Douglas Lowy and John Schiller.

The awardees are to be honored during a ceremony at the White House later this year.

The Scan

Billions for Antivirals

The US is putting $3.2 billion toward a program to develop antivirals to treat COVID-19 in its early stages, the Wall Street Journal reports.

NFT of the Web

Tim Berners-Lee, who developed the World Wide Web, is auctioning its original source code as a non-fungible token, Reuters reports.

23andMe on the Nasdaq

23andMe's shares rose more than 20 percent following its merger with a special purpose acquisition company, as GenomeWeb has reported.

Science Papers Present GWAS of Brain Structure, System for Controlled Gene Transfer

In Science this week: genome-wide association study ties variants to white matter stricture in the brain, and more.