Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

Science at the UN

The United Nations has put together a scientific advisory board to provide advice to world leaders on science policy, the Nature News blog reports. The board, set up by Secretary-General Ban Ki-Moon, consists of 26 scientists who will serve two-year terms.

“It brings together scientists of international stature, and will serve as a global reference point to improve links between science and public policies," UNESCO Director-General Irina Bokova says in a statement.

Among those chosen for the board include Susan Avery from the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Ke Gong, who is the president of Nankai University in China, Reiko Kuroda from Tokyo University of Science, Ada Yonath at the Weizmann Institute of Sciences and chemistry Nobel Laureate, and Ahmed Zewail at the California Institute of Technology and another chemistry Nobel Laureate.

The Scan

Renewed Gain-of-Function Worries

The New York Times writes that the pandemic is renewing concerns about gain-of-function research.

Who's Getting the Patents?

A trio of researchers has analyzed gender trends in biomedical patents issued between 1976 and 2010 in the US, New Scientist reports.

Other Uses

CBS Sunday Morning looks at how mRNA vaccine technology could be applied beyond SARS-CoV-2.

PLOS Papers Present Analysis of Cervicovaginal Microbiome, Glycosylation in Model Archaea, More

In PLOS this week: functional potential of the cervicovaginal microbiome, glycosylation patterns in model archaea, and more.