Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

New L'Oreal Fellows

L'Oreal has announced the 2013 winners of its annual Fellowships For Women in Science, which recognizes US women who are at the start of their science careers. Among this year's fellows are Harvard University's Arpita Bose, Luisa Whittaker-Brooks at Princeton University, Anisa Salim Ismail also at Princeton, the National Institute of Health's Robin Evans Stanley, and Harvard's Mary Caswell Stoddard.

Each fellow receives $60,000 toward postdoctoral research as well as professional development workshops and professional network-building opportunities.

Stanley, for example, will be using her fellowship to study the complexes involved in autophagy, while Ismail will be exploring quorum sensing and how cells communicate.

"It is so important to support early-career women to improve diversity in the sciences, as well as offer women the platform to make significant changes in the STEM workforce," says Shirley Malcom, who heads the education and human resource program at the American Association for the Advancement of Science, which partners with L'Oreal on this program, in a statement.