Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

Early Career Researchers Honored

Some 102 early-career researchers have been named as recipients of the US Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, according to a press release issued by the White House.

The awards were established in 1996 to support early-career investigators pursuing innovative research, and researchers employed or funded by federal agencies who are in the early stages of an independent research career were eligible for the award.

Among those 102 recipients are 20 National Institutes of Health-funded researchers, including Debra Auguste from the City College of New York, who is working on personalized therapies for metastatic breast cancer; the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute's Susan Harbison, who studies the influence of drugs on genetic networks that affect sleep; Todd Macfarlan from Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute on Child Health and Human Development, who is studying the mechanisms behind epigenomic reprogramming in mammals; the University of California, San Francisco's Katherine Rauen, who is examining the role of Ras/MAPK pathway mutations on skeletal myogenesis; and Washington University School of Medicine's Andrew Yoo, who is researching microRNA and neural factor-mediated direct reprogramming of cell fates.

The investigators are to receive their rewards at a ceremony next year.