Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

Australia Forms Science Council

The Australian government is forming a 10-expert council to advise on science policy and increase its return on investment in the sciences, the Nature News Blog reports.

The Commonwealth Science Council, announced as part of a new competitiveness agenda, includes five business leaders and five researchers and will be chaired by Prime Minister Tony Abbott. Industry Minister Ian Macfarlane will serve as deputy chair.

The agenda, the Nature News Blog adds, also calls for the creation of five industry growth centers to enhance collaboration and promote competitiveness of the mining, oil, and medical technology industries, at the cost of AUS$188.5 million over four years.

The Australian government's commitment to science has recently been in doubt as the science minister post was folded into the industry portfolio and as cuts are being made to the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation budget.

Macfarlane, the Nature News Blog notes, has been saying that this competitiveness agenda would highlight how the government is tackling these issues.

Ian Chubb, Australia's chief scientist who has expressed concerns regarding science in Australia, welcomed the news. “This is about improving the impact, focus and prioritization of Australia’s investment in science and research," he says in a statement. “Our national strengths, our future needs, our comparative advantages, and our shared ambitions must connect."

The Scan

Foxtail Millet Pangenome, Graph-Based Reference Genome

Researchers in Nature Genetics described their generation of a foxtail millet pangenome, which they say can help in crop trait improvement.

Protein Length Distribution Consistent Across Species

An analysis in Genome Biology compares the lengths of proteins across more than 2,300 species, finding similar length distributions.

Novel Genetic Loci Linked to Insulin Resistance in New Study

A team reports in Nature Genetics that it used glucose challenge test data to home in on candidate genes involved in GLUT4 expression or trafficking.

RNA Editing in Octopuses Seems to Help Acclimation to Shifts in Water Temperature

A paper in Cell reports that octopuses use RNA editing to help them adjust to different water temperatures.