Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

Pete Martinez, MJ Soileau, Les Croland, Weaver Gaines, Marshall Criser, David Day, John Fraser, Fred Lippman, Erik Sander, Bill Newman, Carla Rathbun, Raymond Cheung, Carol Pratt

The Florida Research Consortium this week announced the election of officers and executive committee members for 2008.
Pete Martinez of the Quantum Group has been named chairman; MJ Soileau of the University of Central Florida, vice-chairman; Les Croland of Edwards Angell Palmer & Dodge, secretary; Weaver Gaines of Nanotherapeutics, treasurer; and Marshall Criser of AT&T Florida, immediate past chairman.
Elected to join the officers on the FRC executive committee in at-large positions include David Day of the University of Florida; John Fraser of Florida State University; Fred Lippman of Nova Southeastern University; and Erik Sander of the V2R Group and UF.

The Oregon Bioscience Association this week said that Bill Newman has been named chairman of its board of directors for 2008. Newman is managing director with Northwest Technology Ventures.
Other OBA board officers for the year are Carla Rathbun, secretary and consultant, and Raymond Cheung, treasurer, both from Geffen Mesher & Co.; and Carol Pratt, legal counsel at K& L Gates.

The Scan

Not Immediately Told

The US National Institutes of Health tells lawmakers that one of its grantees did not immediately report that it had developed a more infectious coronavirus, Science says.

Seems Effective in Kids

The Associated Press reports that the Pfizer-BioNTech SARS-CoV-2 vaccine for children appears to be highly effective at preventing symptomatic disease.

Intelligence Warning on Bioeconomy Threats

US intelligence warns over China's focus on technologies and data related to the bioeconomy, the New York Times reports.

PLOS Papers on Campylobacteriosis Sources, Inherited Retinal Dystrophies, Liver Cancer Prognosis

In PLOS this week: approach to uncover source of Campylobacteriosis, genetic risk factors for inherited retinal dystrophies, and more.