Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

William Enhiser New CEO of Whatman; Stephen Zaniboni to Step Down as CFO of Sequenom; Ed Southern and Alec Jeffreys Win Lasker Award; Tom Tuschl Receives Schering Prize; and Others

William Emhiser has been appointed as new chief executive of Whatman, the company said on Monday. He replaces Timothy Haines, who was named chief executive in May. Emhiser will take up his appointment on Nov. 1. He is currently president of North American operations for Proteome Systems. Prior to that, he held a number of senior management positions at Millipore. Emhiser holds a degree in biomedical engineering from DukeUniversity.


Stephen Zaniboni, CFO of Sequenom, will step down from his post during the fourth quarter, the company said in an SEC filing last week. Sequenom plans to consolidate the CFO position with that of the vice president of finance, which is currently held by John Sharp.


Murray Wigmore has joined GE Healthcare Canada as general manager for the clinical systems group, GenomeWeb News has learned. Previously, he was senior vice president at MDS Sciex.


Richard Moran has been appointed as senior vice president and CFO of Genta, the company said last week. He succeeds William Keane, who will resign Sept. 23 and will remain a company consultant. From 2002 until his retirement in 2004, Moran was director for special projects at Johnson and Johnson.


Christopher Yoo has joined the InnovationXchange Network, an Australia-based non-profit business development organization, to lead business operations in the Americasand internationally, GenomeWeb News has learned. Yoo was formerly director of marketing, commercial operations, at Applied Biosystems and previously worked at IBM as global strategy executive for the company's Information Based Medicine business unit.


Virginia Dadey has become vice president for investor relations at Arrowhead, the company said last week. She previously worked for the Maxim Group as senior vice president for institutional sales. Dadey holds a BS from PurdueUniversity. Arrowhead is the parent company of RNAi drugs developer Calando Pharmaceuticals.


Anthony Altig has been appointed to the board of directors of MultiCell Technologies, the Lincoln, RI-based company said on Monday. He is currently senior vice president and CFO of Diversa.


Geoffrey Burnstock has joined the scientific advisory board of CytRx, the company said yesterday. He is a professor and director of the Autonomic Neuroscience Institute at the Royal Free & University College Medical School in London. Burnstock played a major role in developing CytRx's lead small molecule drug candidate arimoclomol, according to the company.


Arpita Das has become senior scientists for the protein bioanalytical department of Midwest BioResearch, the Evanston, Ill.-based company said last week. Previously, she was a senior scientist at Neuronautics. Das holds a PhD in cell and developmental biology from the Universityof Illinois and an MS in molecular biology from LoyolaUniversityof Chicago.


Ed Southern and Alec Jeffreys have won the 2005 Albert Lasker Award for Clinical Medical Research, the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation said on Sunday. Southern, of the Universityof Oxford, receives the award for inventing the Southern blot technique. Jeffreys, of the Universityof Leicester, UK, is honored for inventing genetic fingerprinting.


Jon Kleinberg and Pehr Harbury are among the 25 new MacArthur Fellows for 2005 named yesterday by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation. Each will receive $500,000 over the next five years with "no strings attached."


Kleinberg, 33, is a professor of computer science at CornellUniversity. Among other topics, his research has focused on comparative genomics and protein structures, although he is best known for his contributions to network theory. He holds a PhD and an SM from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and an AB from CornellUniversity.


Pehr Harbury, 40, is an associate professor of biochemistry at StanfordUniversity. He has been exploring the structure, activity, and synthesis of proteins with the aim of developing more potent and specific drugs. Harbury holds a PhD and a BA from HarvardUniversity.


Burkhard Rost has been elected as the next president of the International Society for Computational Biology. Rost currently serves as ISCB vice president. He will begin a one-year term as president-elect on Jan. 21, 2006, followed immediately by a two-year term as president. Rost, an associate professor at Columbia University's BioinformaticsCenter, will succeed Michael Gribskov, professor of biological sciences and computer science at PurdueUniversity, as president of the society.


Thomas Tuschl has won the 2005 Ernst Schering Prize, according to the Ernst Schering Foundation. He is honored "for his groundbreaking work in the field of RNA interference." Tuschl will receive the award, which comes with €50,000 in prize money, at a ceremony in Berlinon Sept. 21. He is a professor at the RockefellerUniversity.


Promoted? Changing jobs? GenomeWeb News wants to know. E-mail us at [email protected] to announce your move in PEOPLE, a weekly roundup of personnel changes in the genomics industry.

The Scan

Genome Sequences Reveal Range Mutations in Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells

Researchers in Nature Genetics detect somatic mutation variation across iPSCs generated from blood or skin fibroblast cell sources, along with selection for BCOR gene mutations.

Researchers Reprogram Plant Roots With Synthetic Genetic Circuit Strategy

Root gene expression was altered with the help of genetic circuits built around a series of synthetic transcriptional regulators in the Nicotiana benthamiana plant in a Science paper.

Infectious Disease Tracking Study Compares Genome Sequencing Approaches

Researchers in BMC Genomics see advantages for capture-based Illumina sequencing and amplicon-based sequencing on the Nanopore instrument, depending on the situation or samples available.

LINE-1 Linked to Premature Aging Conditions

Researchers report in Science Translational Medicine that the accumulation of LINE-1 RNA contributes to premature aging conditions and that symptoms can be improved by targeting them.