Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

Rita Colwell, Nina Fedoroff, Marshall Larsen

Rita Colwell and Nina Fedoroff are among this week's winners of the National Science Foundation’s 2006 National Medals of Science and Technology.
Fedoroff also this week was named science and technology adviser to US Secretary of State Condoleeza Rice.
Colwell, a former NSF director, and Fedoroff will receive their awards at a White House celebration on July 27.
Colwell is currently a director of the J. Craig Venter Institute. Fedoroff, meantime, has been a Sigma-Aldrich director since 1996. She is a professor at Penn State University and an external professor of the Santa Fe Institute.
As a science adviser at the US Department of State, Fedoroff will function as the department’s chief scientist and as its principal liaison to scientific communities.

Marshall Larsen has been elected to the board of directors of Becton Dickinson effective Sept. 24. Larsen is chairman, president, and CEO of Goodrich Corp., an aerospace and defense products manufacturer. He also serves on the board of governors and executive committee of the US Aerospace Industries Association and is on the board of directors of Lowe’s Companies.

The Scan

UK Pilot Study Suggests Digital Pathway May Expand BRCA Testing in Breast Cancer

A randomized pilot study in the Journal of Medical Genetics points to similar outcomes for breast cancer patients receiving germline BRCA testing through fully digital or partially digital testing pathways.

Survey Sees Genetic Literacy on the Rise, Though Further Education Needed

Survey participants appear to have higher genetic familiarity, knowledge, and skills compared to 2013, though 'room for improvement' remains, an AJHG paper finds.

Study Reveals Molecular, Clinical Features in Colorectal Cancer Cases Involving Multiple Primary Tumors

Researchers compare mismatch repair, microsatellite instability, and tumor mutation burden patterns in synchronous multiple- or single primary colorectal cancers.

FarGen Phase One Sequences Exomes of Nearly 500 From Faroe Islands

The analysis in the European Journal of Human Genetics finds few rare variants and limited geographic structure among Faroese individuals.