Skip to main content

Lester Crawford, Mark McClellan, Adrian Dillon, Ralph Boyd Jr., Richard Syron, Peter Ellison, Ralph Cicerone, Corey Goodman, William Haseltine

The Bush administration announced Monday that it will nominate Lester Crawford, acting commissioner of the Food and Drug Administration since March, to be commissioner of the agency, filling the opening created when Mark McClellan was appointed to head the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services of the Department of Health and Human Services.

Prior to becoming acting commissioner, Crawford, a veterinarian by training, served as a deputy FDA commissioner. Previously, he was chairman of the department of physiology-pharmacology at the University of Georgia

Adrian Dillon, chief financial officer for Agilent Technologies, has been named executive vice president for finance and administration, effective March 1. In addition to his current responsibilities for finance, planning and corporate development, information technology and workplace services, Dillon will be responsible for global sourcing, India operations, corporate relations, customer financing and contracts, the company said in a statement.

Ralph Boyd Jr. last week was named chairman of the Freddie Mac Foundation, a charitable organization. He replaces Richard Syron, chairman and CEO of Freddie Mac, who will remain on the board. Syron formerly was chairman of Thermo Electron before joining Freddie Mac.

Peter Ellison will resign as dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences at Harvard University, effective at the end of the year. He will remain as professor of anthropology, the school said. Ellison was responsible for combining three Harvard biological science programs into the Harvard Integrated Life Sciences Program, according to a report in the Harvard Crimson newspaper.

Ralph Cicerone, chancellor of the University of California, Irvine, has been elected as the next president of the National Academy of Science, with his six-year term beginning July 1. Barbara Schaal, professor of biology at Washington University, St. Louis, was elected vice president. She will serve a four-year term. Named to the governing council were: Claude Canizares, professor of experimental physics and associate provost at Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Gerald Fischbach, executive vice president for health and biomedical sciences and dean of medicine at Columbia University's College of Physicians and Surgeons; Jerry Gollub, professor of natural sciences at Haverford College; and Joyce Marcus, professor of cultural evolution at the University of Michigan. They will serve three-year terms.

BayBio, a life-sciences industry association for Northern California, has named Corey Goodman of Renovis, Victoria Hale of the Institute for OneWorld Health, Steve James of KAI Pharmaceuticals, Joel Marcus of Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Phil Moody of Chiron, Alan Mendelson of Latham & Watkins, Kim Popovits of Genomic Health, and Dan Welch of InterMune to the board of directors.

William Haseltine, the founder of Human Genome Sciences and a professor at the Scripps Research Institute, last week was named chairman of the scientific advisory board of Matrix Laboratories of Hyderabad, India.

The Scan

And For Adolescents

The US Food and Drug Administration has authorized the Pfizer-BioNTech SARS-CoV-2 vaccine for children between the ages of 12 and 15 years old.

Also of Concern to WHO

The Wall Street Journal reports that the World Health Organization has classified the SARS-CoV-2 variant B.1.617 as a "variant of concern."

Test for Them All

The New York Times reports on the development of combined tests for SARS-CoV-2 and other viruses like influenza.

PNAS Papers on Oral Microbiome Evolution, Snake Toxins, Transcription Factor Binding

In PNAS this week: evolution of oral microbiomes among hominids, comparative genomic analysis of snake toxins, and more.