Skip to main content
Premium Trial:

Request an Annual Quote

Charles Yanofsky, Andrew Carr, John Padfield, Deborah Oronzio, Greg Svatora, Adelbert Stagg, David Chiswell

Charles Yanofsky, professor emeritus of biology at Stanford University, received the National Medal of Science at a recent White House ceremony. His major contributions include demonstrating the RNA-based regulation of gene expression; and his early discovery of colinearity, which describes the relationship between the structures of genes and their protein products

Andrew Carr was named chairman of the board of directors for Cambridge, UK-based Akubio, an acoustic biosensor technology company. Carr succeeds John Padfield, who resigned. Carr previously was CEO of Amersham Biosciences and a director of Amersham.

Deborah Oronzio has joined Gentris as vice president of business development and marketing. Oronzio previously held managerial positions at PPD/PPGx, Becton Dickinson, and Pharmacia Diagnostics, among other companies

Greg Svatora has been named chief financial officer of the Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center in La Jolla, Calif. Svatora previously was director of finance and business services for the Cal State San Marcos Foundation.

Adelbert Stagg was named vice president of regulatory affairs and quality assurance, Artes Medical announced last week. Previously, Stagg lead regulatory affairs at Allergan. Stagg formerly worked as a scientist at Becton Dickinson.

David Chiswell was named non-executive chairman of Sosei of Tokyo. Chiswell, chairman of UK's BioIndustry Association, was a founder and former CEO of Cambridge Antibody Technology, and is chairman of Arrow Therapeutics and a non-executive director of Arakis.